Jump to content

[Guide] Using DSDT with the Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L


  • Please log in to reply
575 replies to this topic

#541
helob

helob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts

I also have a really good aftermarket cpu cooler. You can try my dsdt, Blackosx posted it above. It wont work if you dont have the same overclocking settings though. So be careful you dont mess up your system


Hi,
I have tried Blackosx dsdt with modified PState for E8400 CPU.
Since you are using E8400, I like to know what PState data you are using based on PStateChanger.
TQ

#542
spacr

spacr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Hi,
I have tried Blackosx dsdt with modified PState for E8400 CPU.
Since you are using E8400, I like to know what PState data you are using based on PStateChanger.
TQ

Attached Files



#543
helob

helob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts
Hi Spacr,
Thanks for providing Pstates table for yout E8400.
Since I am not using OC, I can't used those values.
Thank you anyway

#544
fanfan22

fanfan22

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
since this topic sticks to GA-EP45-DS3L, it is good idea to provide a .aml file directly for those who didn't want to spend time on building his own aml file. very happy there is a aml file provided. And want to see on how to use the file, for example what other additional kext are need after install this aml file?

#545
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

And want to see on how to use the file, for example what other additional kext are need after install this aml file?

A good place to start would be at my 10.6 install thread.

#546
helob

helob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts
Hi blaclosx,
I am looking for your last DSDT which has speedstep included as your latest below does not have speedstep.

"LATEST - Credit to mm67 for this DSDT.
Attached File GA_EP45_DS3L_DSDT_Generic_v5.zip ( 2.85K ) Number of downloads: 167
Last updated 17th January 2009 - 20:27"

Would apprecaite if you can direct me or upload your latest DSDT which has speed step.

TQ & have a nice day.

#547
Marby

Marby

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Blackosx,
You can change the pci root value in the DSDT by changing Name (_UID, One) to Name (_UID, Zero)



Change this:

Device (PCI0)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0A03"))
Name (_ADR, Zero)
Name (_UID, One)
Name (_BBN, Zero)
Name (_STA, 0x0F)
Method (_CRS, 0, NotSerialized)

To this:

Device (PCI0)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0A03"))
Name (_ADR, Zero)
Name (_UID, Zero)
Name (_BBN, Zero)
Name (_STA, 0x0F)
Method (_CRS, 0, NotSerialized)

After doing so you can set pciroot to 0 in com.apple.Boot.plist

#548
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Hi blaclosx,
I am looking for your last DSDT which has speedstep included as your latest below does not have speedstep.

"LATEST - Credit to mm67 for this DSDT.
Attached File GA_EP45_DS3L_DSDT_Generic_v5.zip ( 2.85K ) Number of downloads: 167
Last updated 17th January 2009 - 20:27"

Would apprecaite if you can direct me or upload your latest DSDT which has speed step.

TQ & have a nice day.

Hi Helob

The Generic DSDT is as the name suggests, generic, so anyone with the qualifying motherboard can use it. You can then add your own CPU data is you choose.

Here's the latest one I am using right now which includes CPU data for my E7300 @ 2.66Ghz so don't use it exactly unless you have the same. Attached File  dsdt.dsl.zip   5.13KB   39 downloads
You will find my CPU data added under Scope (_SB). This is because a while back MasterChief identified that it doesn't have to be under Scope (_PR).

Blackosx,
You can change the pci root value in the DSDT by changing Name (_UID, One) to Name (_UID, Zero)

Hi Marby

Yes this has been discussed before somewhere in this thread and it is no longer necessary to do this as the new bootloaders support auto PCIroot detection. Try having a go with the latest Chameleon RC5 pre-release v8 and you'll find you don't need to touch this. Dr Hurt has put together an installer for the current pre-release. Run it and point it at your Cham partition.

#549
helob

helob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts
[quote name='blackosx' date='Feb 6 2010, 06:31 PM' post='1404731']
Hi Helob

The Generic DSDT is as the name suggests, generic, so anyone with the qualifying motherboard can use it. You can then add your own CPU data is you choose.

Here's the latest one I am using right now which includes CPU data for my E7300 @ 2.66Ghz so don't use it exactly unless you have the same. Attached File  dsdt.dsl.zip   5.13KB   39 downloads
You will find my CPU data added under Scope (_SB). This is because a while back MasterChief identified that it doesn't have to be under Scope (_PR).

Hi blackosx,
TQ for sharing with me your latest dsdt with speedstep.

I noticed that under Scope (_SB)

Name (CST, Package (0x04)
{
0x03,
Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x000,)},0x01,0x01,0x03E8},
Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x010,)},0x02,0x01,0x01F4},
Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x030,)},0x04,0x39,0x064}
})

You don't used SystemIO for ResourceTemplate anymore for C2 & C4 state under Register. Instead you use FFixedHW. Any reason?

Based on my ssdt_cp0cst.dsl dump, I have
Scope (\_PR.CPU0)
{
Method (_CST, 0, NotSerialized)
{
If (And (CFGD, 0x80))
{
Return (Package (0x04)
{
0x03,
Package (0x04)
{
ResourceTemplate ()
{
Register (FFixedHW,
0x00, // Bit Width
0x00, // Bit Offset
0x0000000000000000, // Address
,)
},

0x01,
0x01,
0x03E8
},

Package (0x04)
{
ResourceTemplate ()
{
Register (SystemIO,
0x08, // Bit Width
0x00, // Bit Offset
0x0000000000000414, // Address
,)
},

0x02,
0x01,
0x01F4
},

Package (0x04)
{
ResourceTemplate ()
{
Register (SystemIO,
0x08, // Bit Width
0x00, // Bit Offset
0x0000000000000416, // Address
,)
},

0x03,
0x96,
0x64
}
})
}

Should I change "Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x030,)},0x04,0x39,0x064}" for C4 to
Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x030,)},0x03,0x96,0x064}?

TQ & Have a nice day

Attached Files



#550
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

I noticed that under Scope (_SB)

Name (CST, Package (0x04)
{
0x03,
Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x000,)},0x01,0x01,0x03E8},
Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x010,)},0x02,0x01,0x01F4},
Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate () {Register (FFixedHW, 1, 2, 0x030,)},0x04,0x39,0x064}
})

You don't used SystemIO for ResourceTemplate anymore for C2 & C4 state under Register. Instead you use FFixedHW. Any reason?

Hi helob

mm67 did some research on C-States and posted some code which that I now use. Have a look here.

#551
helob

helob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts

Hi helob

mm67 did some research on C-States and posted some code which that I now use. Have a look here.


Tks for the pointer.
However running the setpci -s 0:1f.0 0xa6.b command returned 00 with
Package (0x4){ResourceTemplate (){Register (FFixedHW,0x01,0x02,0x000,0x0,)},One,One,0x3E8},
Package (0x4){ResourceTemplate (){Register (FFixedHW,0x01,0x02,0x010,0x1,)},0x2,One,0x1F4},
Package (0x4){ResourceTemplate (){Register (FFixedHW,0x01,0x02,0x030,0x3,)},0x4,0x39,0x064} or Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate (){Register (FFixedHW,0x01,0x02,0x030,0x3,)},0x4,0x96,0x064}
So my C4 state is not working.

#552
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Tks for the pointer.
However running the setpci -s 0:1f.0 0xa6.b command returned 00 with
Package (0x4){ResourceTemplate (){Register (FFixedHW,0x01,0x02,0x000,0x0,)},One,One,0x3E8},
Package (0x4){ResourceTemplate (){Register (FFixedHW,0x01,0x02,0x010,0x1,)},0x2,One,0x1F4},
Package (0x4){ResourceTemplate (){Register (FFixedHW,0x01,0x02,0x030,0x3,)},0x4,0x39,0x064} or Package (0x04) {ResourceTemplate (){Register (FFixedHW,0x01,0x02,0x030,0x3,)},0x4,0x96,0x064}
So my C4 state is not working.

My knowledge doesn't go that far on this subject and I have only followed the posts in the link I posted above. If you can't find out the answer from there then maybe you can submit a post to that thread? as you might bet a faster response there.

#553
helob

helob

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 216 posts
Hi blackosx,
I saw something interesting related to dsdt.aml for Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3L at InfiniteMac (http://www.infinitem...mac-bios-t5540/).
"This project consists on a hacked gigabyte bios file (based on the latest F9 bios for this board) wich you can flash to your motherboard (ONLY) trough Clean Q-Flash (without entering Bios Setup before Q-Flash), and, once booted, have a normal functional computer for any OS, and the possibility to boot under Mac OS X with enhanced features normally achieved trough the use of a DSDT.aml file.

The Final idea is having a bios that boots OSX (we will still need a bootloader for now but i pretend to implement that into bios in future releases) without the need of any DSDT.aml stored on your disk."
I thought you might be interested.
Take a look and give us your take on it.
TQ and have a nice day.

#554
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Hi helob

Is it this work by cartri?
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=210994

It looks exciting and I have been chatting with him.

#555
hanif2010

hanif2010

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello Blackosx...
Im using yours dsdt.aml... thats work on my Motherboard
the problem is on my graphics, my VGA card is Nvidia 9400GT 1 GB but the resolution is 1024x768
if i change to 1280x1024 my screen is black.. and cannot log in to box...
should i change dsdt, help me to do this or you can refer me link
this the system profiler if im using res 1024x768


GeForce 9400 GT:

Chipset Model: GeForce 9400 GT
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0641
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: xx.xx.xx - internal
Displays:
Display Connector:
Status: No Display Connected
SyncMaster:
Resolution: 1024 x 768 @ 75 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported

#556
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
The DSDT I use here (based on mm67's) is confirmed as working on the GA-EP45-DS3L, GA-EP43-DS3L and the GA-EP45-UD3L. So although the EP45-UD3LR looks very similar it might have slight differences in it's original DSDT which would be up to you to look for.

But for your video card, I take it you are using the GraphicsEnabler boot option in you com.apple.Boot.plist? and from the data you have supplied it looks like the card is recognised okay, so have you tried connecting the display via the DVI out? If you can't suss it then the easiest option I can suggest is you find someone else who is using the same card and check settings.

#557
nandor690

nandor690

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

The DSDT I use here (based on mm67's) is confirmed as working on the GA-EP45-DS3L, GA-EP43-DS3L and the GA-EP45-UD3L. So although the EP45-UD3LR looks very similar it might have slight differences in it's original DSDT which would be up to you to look for.

But for your video card, I take it you are using the GraphicsEnabler boot option in you com.apple.Boot.plist? and from the data you have supplied it looks like the card is recognised okay, so have you tried connecting the display via the DVI out? If you can't suss it then the easiest option I can suggest is you find someone else who is using the same card and check settings.



I have been searching through these post, and there are a lot, but I was trying to find any post on the mic working with alc888b and i think your guys board uses the same. has anyone fixed this and if so may i please get the link to that thread.

#558
hanif2010

hanif2010

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

The DSDT I use here (based on mm67's) is confirmed as working on the GA-EP45-DS3L, GA-EP43-DS3L and the GA-EP45-UD3L. So although the EP45-UD3LR looks very similar it might have slight differences in it's original DSDT which would be up to you to look for.

But for your video card, I take it you are using the GraphicsEnabler boot option in you com.apple.Boot.plist? and from the data you have supplied it looks like the card is recognised okay, so have you tried connecting the display via the DVI out? If you can't suss it then the easiest option I can suggest is you find someone else who is using the same card and check settings.


Hey Thats work perfect .... after im edit my dsdt and change the connector to DVI..
all work perfect... thanks blackosx

heres my dsdt Attached File  DSDT.aml.zip   1.97KB   15 downloads

#559
blackosx

blackosx

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Coders
  • 3,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
@nandor690
See here for a little bit of info.

@hanif2010
I am happy you have it working.

#560
nilufernemis

nilufernemis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I am success for SL On GA-EP45 Board but SL cant see my dvdrw why i didnt understand ? Please can u help me about this subject ?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy