Yet another multi-boot: Vista, Ubuntu, Leopard (HELP)

7 posts in this topic

After much searching, I can't quite find what I'm looking for. I can't find a sure-fire way to pull this off. I'm totally new to OSX and Linux. I have Vista Ultimate 32-bit installed right now and here are my relevant PC specs:

CPU - Intel E8400

video card - EVGA 8800GT 512MB

motherboard - Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L

power supply - Corsair 520HX

HDDs - Seagate 320GB SATA and WD 250GB SATA

RAM - Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800MHz 4x1GB

Disc drives - DVDRW and CDRW

I have the Kalway 10.5.1 version of OSx86 and Linux Ubuntu 7.10. Should I keep Vista installed and start from here or should I install OSX first? This thread explains that starting with OSX is easier. Reformatting the disk with Vista isn't a problem. I do only want to use the one disk for all three OSs though - the other disk is full. What order should I install them in? I'll probably be using Ubuntu as my main OS if that makes a difference. Will booting into any particular OS be difficult (depending on what software I use)?

How much room on my HDD should I set aside for each OS? Can I add more OSs later (such as different Linux distributions I want to try)? Can I delete the OSX partition later if I don't like it? Will I be able to access files (such as Open Office files or games) on a Windows partition from Ubuntu? Will I be able to expand partitions later if they fill up?

Basically I could use a good walk-through, but any help would be much appreciated. That's all for now. :)

I suggest to get a third harddrive so you can have each OS on it's own drive. I suggest 20-50G partitions for Vista and Ubuntu, and at least 100G for Leopard. Many OSX apps must be installed on the OS drive, so you need a lot of space. Install each OS separately with one drive connected at a time. Make sure everything works for each separate OS, then set Vista as the first boot drive.