HP Pavillion ZD8215

Chasenthegrls

2 posts in this topic

Hi my name is Chasen,

Just a heads up I am total noob so reader beware. But I just wanted to possibly help anyone with a HP Pavillion zd8215 laptop. (Although I believe that this information would help anyone who has a HP zd8000 series laptop computer)

Project Hardware (Target of Kalyway install):

HP Pavilion zd8215 laptop

80gb ATA Hard Drive

ATI Mobility Radeon X600

Intel P4 3ghz

512 MB Ram (Had 2GB but had to revert back to stock 512MB ram; see problem 4)

Internal DVD drive (No external drive)

Software:

Kalyway 10.5.1

Support Computer (Computer used to burn dvd image):

Mac Pro

Stock specs

Duel Boot w/ OSX Leopard and XP Pro (via boot camp)

Software Used on Support Computer:

Disk Utility (Program on Mac OSX Leopard; Applications>Utilities>Disk Utility)

IMG Burn (Free program that burns iso images; Google it)

First major props for Kenneth M. for posting this:

http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?sho...mp;#entry602474

First problem: (Well it is not really a problem but I wanted to add it anyways) I didn't know what to change in the bios. I looked through lots of posts but nothing about hp.

Solution to first problem: Well after going into the bios I found out that I didn't have much of an option so I left it as default.

Second problem: For some reason I burnt a corrupt or damaged .iso disk image. I used disk utility on the Mac Pro (@ 4x burn rate) to make the dvd via my Local Area Network (LAN). When I tried to burn the dvd, disk utility would not burn the dvd. I received a error message stating that the source was corrupt. I believe that this was because I encountered a blue screen of death on the HP Pavillion zd8215 when I downloaded it. (the blue screen will come into play later, so keep that in mind) So the disk image source (the torrent) was probably good. It was probably a dowload error due to the blue screen of death.