Prob installing Kalyway 10.5.1 with VIA chipset

dying4004

6 posts in this topic

guyz  i am a super noob. so at 1st i am saying sorry for asking old answered questions again.

i just started with MAC today.  a friend of fine gave me a bootable dvd of kalyway 10.5.1.

my system spec:

Pentium D 3.0 Ghz

MSI P4M900M2 MOBO

2 GB 667 Mhz DDR2

XFX Geforce 8400 GS  256 MB

VIA HD AUDIO

VIA NIC

ADMTEK NIC

Hitachi 250 GB SATA

Maxtor 80 GB ATA

Liteon DVD Writer SATA

PROB:

i have my XP in SATA HDD. i booted pc with kalyway dvd in the DVD writer. then pressed F flag. it was loading the extensions. then at 1 point it showed

AppleVIAATADriver: VIA Unknown

then it waited for 30-40 secs and showed Still waiting for root device.

after that i booted in pc searched the google and this forum. found lots of answers. but as its my 1st attempt at MAC many things i cant understand.   what i got is that i need to use AppleVIAATA.kext to get my installation done.  but i dont know how to patch my dvd. do i need to make an iso from the dvd and then patch it?? could any 1 please put me on the rite way so that i can start working.   BTW  my ATA HDD is on Primary Master.  cheerz guyz

thnx for the reply the_fantasma. i have been searching google and this forum for last 24 hrs. i more or less know what is causing my prob. the 1st thing i have to do to solve my prob is add AppleViaAta.kext in the dvd. but i cant fnd how to make image of the bootable dvd , then add the files in the iso and then re-write the dvd.