Another BAD AXE 2 Install Thread-Install from retail thorough guide

Unit

6 posts in this topic

I wrote this guide as a reference, and also for any other noobs who may be having issues with a vanilla install from the Leopard Retail DVD. The information is all there, but often not all in the same place/thread. I am new to this myself, so any feedback (this being my first guide) is appreciated and welcome. Any shortcuts, suggestions, or if I did something wrong/omitted something, please feel free to chime in.

What follows is guide on how I got my Bad Axe 2 working. This is all based on others' work, so I've tried to provide a few references in the links that follow. Many Thanks to Kalyway, BJMoose, i_am...me, zzak, Geeze, for providing threads and information on how to install this thing.

REQUIREMENTS

-a spare hard drive

-working Leopard install (HAcktintosh or real Mac)

-PC EFI v8 files

-retail DVD or .dmg of OS X 10.5

-graphics/video card kext or driver (varies depending on what GFX card you have)

BASICS

Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2 KR (Bad Axe 2)

BIOS Version: BIOS Version 2809

Settings in BIOS mainly default. Make sure the "NX enable bit/XD Tech enable" option is set to ENABLED as per Kalyway's instructions in the Kalyway 10.5.1 DVD thread.

LINKS (RECOMMENDED READING)

KALYWAY 10.5.1 ON BAD AXE 2

GENERAL KALYWAY 10.5.1 RELEASE THREAD

Studied commands in this post

This post helped in ownership, permission commands

Used this to get GUID and EFI installed correctly, specific to BX2 BOARD

in conjunction with above thread get EFI v8

Use this to get Sound working

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

INSTALL HARDWARE (all tested on Windows XP install)

PREPARE HARD DRIVE FOR USE WITH LEOPARD

You need a running/working Leopard install to accomplish this. Attempts to do this from Tiger (10.4.11) did not work.