The ultimate compromise?

5 posts in this topic

As the title suggest i have a bit of a dilema on my hands :unsure:

A bit of a back story:

I am currently studying to become a car designer in college.

As such, we spend allot of time using CAD programs such as Solidworks, AutoCAD etc.

The time has come where we need to start spending allot of time at home using CAD and my macbook with inbuilt graphics will no longer cut the mustard.

Fine i thought, i can go and build myself another PC, ive built many before so it shouldnt be an issue.

The only problem is ive become rather attached to OSX and i have invested allot of money over the years in OSX specific programs such as photoshop creative suite and more recently Aperture.

However i cant just go for a pure mac computer as not all CAD programs run on OSX, Rhino being a very good but sadly windows only program.

Knowing this, i know a dual boot system is my only option

Solution 1=Buy a Mac Pro and use bootcamp to run xp/vista

Pros

• Genuine mac computer
  • lots of power
  • ability to use both windows and mac programs

Cons

• Very expensive
  • No upgrade path apart from hdd,ram and gpu
  • Ram and Gpu upgrades very expensive

Solution 2=Hackintosh with dual boot or possible bootcamp?

Pros

• Upgradeable
  • Cheap
  • Lots of power if used with the right components

Cons

• Tricky driver support
  • limited hardware choice

Hackintosh clearly seems to be the best option for me, it is upgradeable, cheap and i get to design a computer case for it :D

However, here is the main dilema.

In the search to run OSX on non-Apple hardware will i have to make a huge compromise? and end up with a computer that is lack lustre as both a mac and a pc?

My question is what is the ultimate hackintosh that i could build?

If i run dual boot will there be problems with my graphics card as it would be flashed for osx86?

Is it possible to run bootcamp inside of osx86 (hacked OSX)?