Partitioning problem (turned "Still waiting for root device" problem)

valzilla

9 posts in this topic

Hey,

I've been following the instructions for installing OSX on my PC but I get stuck at step 5 where it asks me to use DiskPart to create a partition in the unallocated space made back in step 2.

When I type in "create partition primary id=af" it gives me the message "Unable to create the specified partition".

Below is a screenshot of the disk structure as according to PartitionMagic:

partitionsls4.jpg

(C: is for Windows and programs and D: is for my personal files)(The grey unallocated space was created by resizing the D: partition in step 2).

I think DiskPart gives me the error because the unallocated space is on the extended portion but I'm new to partitioning so I really don't know.

Any help regarding how I should partition so I would basically have C:, D:, and Leopard partitions is very welcome.

Thank you for your time.

Partitions for and bootable systems must be primary and creating extended partitions is not required for Windows anymore (you can make 4 primary and one extended), so make all of your partitions primary and you should be OK.

You can learn more about partitioning in Windows XP, here: http://www.d-silence.com/feature.php?id=246

Cheers,

hecker

EDIT: The reason you get the error is that you are trying to create a logical partition (since it's inside the extended space) and that is no good for Leo or any other bootable partition as I mentioned above.

Hmm I've got a partition problem but it's different from yours.

This is my hard drive configuration:

partition.jpg

I can't seem to create the partition at the unallocated space. When I type 'create partition parimary id=af' this appears:

diskpart.jpg

Is there any way to get around it?

off-topic: what is EISA configuration?

Hmm I've got a partition problem but it's different from yours.

This is my hard drive configuration:

partition.jpg