"operating system not found"?

fLuXuS

4 posts in this topic

hey there,

i am new to this stuff, but i always wanted to run mac os on my pc. now i finally got an AMD version of the Leopard-AMD-10.5.1 version. it is a readymade image of about 4.5gb that i burned onto a dvd.

i should probably tell you the specs first.

its a tyan k8we mainboard with 2x AMD opteron 885 cpus and a geforce 8400gs. 2x sata 250gb

when booting from the dvd it runs all the checks and loads some stuff. after 20 minutes i can start the installation. i have used diskutility to fromat one of the sata disks to mac os extended journaled and gave it a volume label. formatting was no problem and so was the installation. i unchecked all the additional stuff like language geforce 8xxx drivers and x11. after the installation i reboot, but the following happens. end up with a black screen and top left it says "operating system not found" just like when you put an original leopard dvd in the drive and try to boot from it. do i still have to change any kexts? i thought since it is already a patched amd leo version i wouldnt have to do all the programming and edditing anymore. or do i need a certain kind of bootloader? i would appreciate any suggestions and help from you guys.

thx in advance

Take a look at the Wiki:

http://osx86.wikidot.com/known-issues#toc3

And, there's a BIG thread about that particular .iso:

http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=73524

More commonly referred to as: Zephyroth AMD 10.5.1 (version 1)

The installer failed to may you install partition or HD bootable. You can correct it easily by following the instructions on the Wiki or posted in the thread... There are also some other issues you might need to be aware of - the Wiki will be your friend.

thx cgsheen!