Kalyway 10.5.1 on a Intel D945GTP not working

linuxholgi

10 posts in this topic

Yesterday I took some time and started to install Leopard on my hackintosh. More than a year ago I was lucky to get a 10.4. running by using a Ghost image, found at a torrent site. So be warned, I am still a noob when it comes to this hackintosh stuff... :-)

The Kalyway DVD booted fine, it was not necessary to switch to vanilla on the boot prompt. After that I erased the whole HD with the partitioning utility and created only one partition with the default FS, but switched to MBR.

In the custom install then I selected both vanilla kernel and only the mbr bootloader. After 45 mins the installation was completed successfully.

When I now start the system I get the bootloader and after waiting 3 seconds, I can see 3 lines of text disappearing very quick. The first line is something with "EFI enabled..." ? Then I see the POST screen (cold reboot), like switching the system again on.

Tried to boot with "-v" or "vanilla" but the messages at verbose are disappearing so quick, that I am unbale to get any information. Booting with "vanilla" makes no difference. The "?" is not working to give me more options. Will take a deeper look into the wiki to find something about boot options.

The hardware I am using:

* Intel D945GTP Mainboard (Intel GMA 950 Gfx, Intel High Definition Audio Subsystem, Intel ICH7R Southbridge, Intel 945G Chipset)

* Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz

* 40 GB IDE Harddisk

* LG IDE DVD Burner

* 1.5 GB RAM Kingston DDR2 533

The board should be pretty close to a Mac Mini.

HELP :-)

--Holger

After reading 3 hours and searching the web, I got an idea what could be wrong. I have to check my BIOS settings. The Execute Disable Bit (NX in my BIOS called) must be enabled. Maybe its disabled and causes exactly this. Just wondering if a 10.4 with patched kernel will run with this disabled. Because the old 10.4 had not such a problem.

Will try this when I am back from work.

Holger