Really quick and simple installation guide

wigworm

6 posts in this topic

I'm a total noob. But I managed to get both Tiger and Leopard running on two different systems. My theory: The easiest way is often the best way.

Simple steps below for those who are still having trouble:

I used a separate hard drive for Leopard as I found that using the same physical drive with window spell unwanted complexity and trouble. Remember my philosophy: simplicity!

1. Download and burn iATKOS (This is the one I used). Burn it in slowest speed to ensure success.

2. Partition your hard drive to FAT32 (in one big primary partition) using either Partition magic OR Acronis OR gparted live CD. I used gparted live cd but it really really doesn't matter. Again, simplicity! Don't ever buy into complicated or excessive terminal commands.

3. Unplug all other hard drive from your PC, and connect only the CD ROM and the newly partitioned hard drive which you intend to install Leopard on.

4. Pop in the iATKOS DVD you just burned and let installation start. (What you can do here is if your hard drive is a SATA disk, set it to ACHI mode. Again, it really really doesn't matter unlike other people have said here. Setting it to ACHI mode only makes the installation goes a little bit faster, like 2 minutes faster. So what? Again, Simplicity is the rule!

5. Once you are boot into installation screen, go to disk utility to format your disk to MAC OS extended Journaled format.

6. Go back to installation main screen and install Darwin Boot loader from the tool section. Here, you can choose if you want to install EFI emulation or not. (again, really doesn't matter. Either way it will work) Simplicity is the word!

7. Once you've installed Darwin Boot loader successfully (keyword is successfully. If you see any error message, you failed to install it and it won't boot. Make sure you give it correct partition number and disk number), you may continue installation.