MacBook Pro vs. iMac

5 posts in this topic

Hi!

I am very new to Mac's and wanted to buy one for the holidays. The only problem is that I have no clue which one I want. I am starting to get very interested in video editing (nothing "big" as I am a teen) and was intrigued by a iMac (24 inch). Since I am used to a laptop, I'd want to get a MacBook Pro (15.4 inch). I will be working with Final Cut Studio. My major problem is the lack of upgrading in laptops. I heard that upgrading a iMac is possible. Here are my questions:

• Which one would you buy?
  • How is the performance in a MacBook Pro? (Running intense programs or games)
  • Which one is best for me?

Thanks for answering!!

**NOTE : I lean towards the laptop side more because I like being portable.

I just got a MBP 2weeks ago low end model (2.2GHz 128MB 2GB RAM) I haven't tried FCS yet but I'd imagine it runs fine I'll try it out tomorrow for curiosity sakes. I use it for photoshop and illustrator mostly and does get a little hot and fans start whirling periodically not bothersome at all though actually really quiet. If you want portability the imac isn't for you, also if your a matte screen person imac isn't for you - (still can't believe they only offer glossy i walked into apple just to play around with an MBP first thing i saw was a 24inch Imac and I just walked by it and it distracted me reflecting the lights and myself like a mirror, how any1 can stand that I don't know then again I let little things get to me too much). Anyways doing Video editing I'd recommend 4gigs of ram but don't purchase from apple - 2gigs can be purchased cheaply from 3rd party vendor and installed yourself.