Wireless USB Wifi Adapter: What's best for Leopard?

keplenk

13 posts in this topic

Hi,

I have successfully installed Leopard in my Sony Vaio Laptop (Sta. Rosa). It has 4965AGN built-in wifi and its not working in LEO. I can't wait anymore! I can't change my built-in wireless because of a warranty issue. That is the reason why I'll go for USB Adapters ONLY!

What is the best Wireless USB adapter out there? It would be best if it installs natively in LEO. (Cheaper would be better)

THank you very much.

hi macgirl,

thanks you for your reply.

I found this USB wireless adapter:

http://www.edimax.com/en/produce_detail.ph...=88&pd_id=3

I think the chipset is RALINK (I tried to look inside the pdf manual)

It also has drivers for mac. Driver version is: Mac v1.1.7.0

SInce I'm new to mac, do you think this driver version will work on Leopard?

Thank you so much again =)

Hi Macgirl, thanks for your reply again. HOwever, It got me either cleared or confused. Are you trying to tell me that any USB wifi adapter that uses Ralink RT2571W chipset will not work on 10.5?

I saw two USB adapters that uses this chipset and I'm about to buy it tomorrow or tuesday. I'm going to buy it in Newegg and I just want to make sure.

I hope you could clear things up. I'm really sorry.

THank you again.

hello keplenk; hope it's not too late to answer, i've got a usb wifi key Dlink dwl g122 based on the ralink driver and i have to say that' working perfectly with tiger , leo and windows xp or vista . price is about 25 $

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I have to wait till tomorrow before I buy this. By the way, thank you for informing about this USB wifi adapter. I found a wifi device here that also uses the same chipset as the DWLG122

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductRevie...N82E16833147022

If it uses the same chipset, does it mean it will also work in Leo even though they have different brands?