[How To] 10.4.10 on Abit AB9Pro

callmecase

2 posts in this topic

There's a few others out there who I know are trying to install OSX on a computer with an AB9 Pro Mobo. The challenge here (I found) is the "waiting for root" error and it's mostly caused by SATA/IDE conflicts.

First, let me just say thanks to everyone who's posted here on the board with help and advice. The below was only made possible due to those who came before me.

Secondly, this is my first attempt at a How-to and I tried to follow some of the better tutorials. That being said, don't hesitate to correct me or let me know how I can improve this tutorial if it's lacking.

Finally, don't hesitate to ask a question, PM more or catch me on AIM: callmecase1 with questions!

I've tried to distill my experience in getting everything up and running including being able to dual boot with Vista. BTW - I'm writing this guide in OSX right now ;)

My hardware setup (setting the stage here)

- AB9 Pro

- 1MB mem

- Nvidia GeForce 7300

- 320GB Hitachi SATA HDD (on SATA1 master)

- 80GB WD SATA HDD (on SATA1 slave)

- Samsung DVDR SATA (on SATA2 master)

Getting started

- The distro I used was mac.nub's 10.4.10 release (see here for more info)

- This is only about 1.3GB so if you've downloaded others and wondering why this one is smaller, mac.nub didn't put a bunch of apps and other stuff on the distro (props to mac.nub for an EXCELLENT release!)

- I tried several other images without success, upchuck, XxX, JaS 10.4.8

Disk prep

1. In Vista, go to the disk manager (Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Computer Management) and note the disk number of your OSX disk (mine was disk 1)
  2. In Vista, hit Window+R and type in 'cmd' to get a command window
  3. Type in 'diskpart' and enter the following commands:
    select disk x

(where 'x' is the number of the disk noted above) and hit return. You will receive confirmation that the disk has been selected.

4. Type in
    select partition 1