Problems with wireless (Linksys WUSB54G)

14 posts in this topic

:blink: ok... so I could be the 1237 whos asking, but still.....

I have an USB wirless adapter (WUSB54G) and I got the draiver (name : STA_2500USB D-1.1.2.0 OS-10.4.X 2005_11_29.dmg)

So I instaled the driver, rebooted Mac, then plugged in the USB and look for any changes in some were..

and nothing changed, maybe someone had a bit simmilar situation, could he post some screenshots or give some links with USEFULL information...because I have never used Mac, this is my first time, I dont understand pretty much anything :)

So please help, if you can....

• 4 weeks later...

The Wiki (see my sig below) does indicate certain revisions of this adapter do have a driver. However, the driver in question sucks imo. It needs to be run each time the system boots up, and it seems that it is really easy to throw offline.

This driver has a status pane (something like that). If your adapter is supported it will NOT say "No device!"

If your status says no device, your adapter's chipset isn't what this driver was meant for.

The linksys site states there is no Mac support for the WUSB54G. A compatible driver (kinda) is available from the web site belonging to a chip manufacturer who made the guts to ONE revision of the WUSB54G. They have Windows, Linux, and OS X drivers (10.3 and 10.4).

I had a product with compatible chip inside, installed and used the driver, got connected to my wireless network, surfed the net a little.

But subsequent boots and installing software (of most any kind) would knock the device offline, and I'd have to re-install its drivers. It would also just drop offline arbitrarily.

The Windows system using this very same adapter never had such troubles.

Conclusion: the OS X driver for this unit stinks, even if it IS compatible with the chip inside only one specific release of this adapter.

Hardware Compatibility List for 10.4.3