boot hangs: display module error

AceBR

14 posts in this topic

I've looked arround and found nothing like this. In safe mode it doesen't show all this info. I got it booting verbose but in regular mode, here it goes:

after some

"display: family specific matching fails"

it comes with:

kextd[43]: Kld_load_from_memory() failed for module /System/Library/Extensions/AppleACPIPlatform.kextd/Contents/Plugins/AppleACPIDisplay.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleACPIDisplay

kextd[43]: a link/load error ocurred for kernel extension /System/Library/Extensions/AppleACPIPlatform.kext/Contents/Plugins/AppleACPIDisplay.kext

Its my first time trying mac os x, you experienced guys have got a clue?

P4 2.4a SSE2 512MB in ASUS P4B533 (i845 intel)

ATI 9000 128MB(RV250) (maybe here is the problem...)

Had same problem, thanks to another post here, I got it fixed:

at boot prompt, press 'enter' for options, type -s for single user mode then 'enter'

after it stops loading, it'll tell you what to type if you want to boot and stay in single user mode (something like sh/etc) type that and 'enter' it'll prompt you for password, type deadmoos password and 'enter' then you should be logged in at a shell prompt. type 'ls' to get your bearings as to which directories are around, 'cd extensions', then 'sudo rm -rf AppleIntel*'

that'll clear out your preferences, then type 'reboot', you should be rolling!

I've looked arround and found nothing like this. In safe mode it doesen't show all this info. I got it booting verbose but in regular mode, here it goes:

after some

"display: family specific matching fails"

it comes with:

kextd[43]: Kld_load_from_memory() failed for module /System/Library/Extensions/AppleACPIPlatform.kextd/Contents/Plugins/AppleACPIDisplay.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleACPIDisplay

kextd[43]: a link/load error ocurred for kernel extension /System/Library/Extensions/AppleACPIPlatform.kext/Contents/Plugins/AppleACPIDisplay.kext