ETC/RC? How to edit

atomicchicken

19 posts in this topic

Hello,

Im a newbie so please take it easy on me....hehe. Been having the problem with my built-in PS/2 keyboard and track pad not working and have been doing tons on searches on this and google bout the issue and seems like the answer is to edit "etc/rc" so I can unload then reload the PS/2 drivers. My question is...how do I edit this file?! Been looking all over on how to edit the "etc/rc" but cant seem to find an answer. Would really appreciate any help on how to fix this keyboard problem.

Also maybe you can help me on one other problem im having. The laptop (i installed 10.4.6 Jas W/ 10.4.8 Jas SSE2 combo update) is an Inspiron 2650 and seems as if the 3Com920 ethernet adapter doesnt work so I looked around and found a USB Dongle WiFi stick. Happens to be a Buffalo WLI-U2-KG54-AI and seems like theres drivers for it and people have been reporting that they have had success using it. Well I downloded the drivers from Ralinks site and installed but it doesnt show up. I can see it connected to a USB port in system profiler and manually launched the ralink utility but just say "No Device". Made sure to disable the built-in drivers and just to make sure it works popped it into a WinXP machine and it works.

Would love to get my 3Com920 Working too if anybody knows how.

Well once again I'd really appreciate any assistance or guidance on how to get problems sorted out!!!

Thanks,

J

Fireshark,

Thanks soooo much!!!! Got it....but if you or anyone else be so kind as to assist me a bit more. After I edited the etc/rc, I exited and low and behold the setting didnt get saved. How do I save the settings? I tried the "save" command from the drop down menu but it asked me where to save it so to stay on the safe side I didnt do anything.

Thanks again

Rammjet,