Which MacOSX version would best run in old (2009) Alienware R1

redbull02

6 posts in this topic

Hey guys, I'm a bit new to hackintosh but I've done some reading into the whole installation process. I've managed to run Mavericks on a super crappy HP Pavilion Slimline 400-034 (although only on Safe Mode, no kernel cache and I'm still trying to find the correct Voodoohda config to get some basic stereo audio out of the 3.5mm jack but that's a story for another day lol) so I've had some experience with the painful install process.

So here's my challenge for you, and boy is it a big one hehe:

I want to install any version of MacOSX that can run in an old Alienware Aurora R1 (Dell's official spec site), so I was wondering if by any chance any of you know if any of my hardware will be compatible with some old (or new) MacOSX distro out there. I can try out some installations but I figured I could save some painful time of troubleshooting and boot flag madness lol

Quick specs:

H869M Alienware Mobo (Intel X58 rev. 13 chipset, Southbridge Intel 82801JR (ICH10R) rev. 00)

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 Bloomfield (LGA1366 socket)

Memory: 9 GB total (3x2GB & 3x1GB)  DDR3 SDRAM UDIMM | PC3-8500F (1066 MHz) 

GPU (upgraded from the original GTX 260): Gigabyte GTX 970 (GM204 | A1 revision) (4GB GDDR5 | 256 bus bandwidth | 224.4 GB/s bandwidth)

I've attached an html file from CPU-Z that has more ind-depth specs. Also included a .gif screenshot from GPU-Z that has much more detail about the GPU if needed.post-2153582-0-90002200-1498422316_thumb.gif

CPU-Z specs (Alienware Aurora).html

So, what do you guys think, could I run some MacOSX version that'll give me some basic hardware functinoality (on-board stereo audio, HDMI or DVI video and audio (or 3.5 mm audio jack), USB 2 and 3, etc.) 

Well, I'll break the ice then...