10.4.6 (Jas) "Gray Apple" ?

Ireland

16 posts in this topic

I have installed 10.4.6 (Jas) on a Dell Inspiron 5100 (Intel SSE2). I wiped the drive using kill disk, then I reformatted the partition to FAT32 using Acronis-Disk-Director (which was very quick! Should the reformatting to FAT32 be that quick?) I then bootup up into the Install DVD, where I zero'd out the partition, and reformatted to Mas OS Extended (Journaled). I then did the custom install option, and I installed all the nessesary parts (as I pvt. messaged a few people and they all agreed I did that part right, SSE2 Intel etc.). When I boot up sometimes it boots up fine, but mostly it just hangs on showing me that "Gray Apple" forever, with no HDD noise, and no spinning wheel.

Please help me as I'm new to this and I've tried to intsall it four times already. Booting up is very unreliable, it's like I have to trick in into starting up.

-Ireland

boot again, but when it displays that little Darwin boot loader line, hit enter and type -v then hit enter again. then see where it freezes and post it again.

boot again, but when it displays that little Darwin boot loader line, hit enter and type -v then hit enter again. then see where it freezes and post it again.

How am I supposed to type that in when it jumps straight to the "Gray Apple"?

EDIT>> I pressed F8 on startup > then I typed "-v" in. Less than half the screen filling up with text:

hi mem tramsp at 0xffe00000

PAE enabled

standard timeslicing quantum is 10000 us

vm_page_bootstripe: 61712 free pages

mig_table_max_displ = 71

CPU identification: Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.40GHz

CPU features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH DS ACPI MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 SS HTT TM EST

HTTT: 0 core per package; 1 logical cpu per package

CPU extended features:

Local APIC discovered and enabled

Enabling XMM register save/restore and SSE/SSE2 opcodes

[RTCLOCK] frequency 2390000000 (2392021900)