How to revise system profile from MacBookPro to MacPro?

PB_863

13 posts in this topic

Total newb here,

I finally managed to install Snow Leopard 10.6.3 on my desktop system a couple of days ago.  But my System profile info reports that it thinks it's a MacBookPro(5,1), which is a laptop!

I think this is causing me problems, so I'd like to change that to MacPro, a desktop system.

How do I do that?

My bootloader is Clover, and I used an auto-patcher to modify my dsdt.aml (which I stored at the root of my startup volume). The file I used with the auto-patcher was MacPro(3,1), but for whatever reason that's not what the System Profiler shows.  I've attached my dsdt.aml file.

I'm a total newbie and I have absolutely no idea how to do this, (or much else, for that matter), so please explain the solution to me as if to a child.

Thanks!

Update: I figured out how to TEMPORARILY enter, at the Clover boot screen, a symbios change to MacPro3,1 - but it reverts to MacBookPro5,1 after every reboot.  So I'm still stuck

dsdt.aml.zip

SMBios.plist.zip

Thanks ever so much, alexanderq and jamiethemorris! :thumbsup_anim:

Your suggestions are extremely helpful!  And since I encountered some hardware problems with my previous boot disk, I just got a new one and will be starting over from scratch; so it's perfect timing to incorporate your sage advice.

Thanks again!

Hello and wellcome to forum.First of all the smbios.plist you provided is from chameleon then i suggest to you to boot

with no dsdt first and let clover to auto detect settings make a boot log or darwindump read here a bit

http://clover-wiki.zetam.org/Home

and then we can talk some more.

Try Clover Configurator, it makes things a lot easier. http://www.hackintoshosx.com/files/file/49-clover-configurator/ Clover is different than Chameleon, all of the settings including the SMBIOS are in the config.plist.

Dear jamiethemorris,