10.4.6 intel stops at blue screen

kpitstupidsimple

15 posts in this topic

I just got done installing OSX 10.4.6 (the hotiso version with the patches) on my Pentium D 940 system. I reboot and it loads the grey background loading screen with the apple logo, and then it loads a cursor and the blue background, but it doesn't give me that 'your system is loading' message or anything, just a blue screen with a moveable cursor.

I made sure to install the intel patches.

I've got an nvidia 7900gt. I think there's a chance that the video could be the problem? I read guides that say to pass ?video to the boot prompt, but I don't get a prompt, just output that it's loading, then starting the system, but no pause for input. Is that a problem also?

(I'm new to the whole OSX world...so thanks for bearing with my noobliness.)

Thanks in advance.

What motherboard do you have?

The ?video just quizzes the video card for the resolutions it supports under VESA mode (no driver mode). It doesn't "fix" anything.

To get a prompt, you have to hit F8 at the right time during boot. When OSX boots, the screen turns black and then grey with a spinning icon. As soon as the screen turns black, start tapping the F8 key quickly and repeatedly until a command prompt appears.

To test it out, when you get the prompt, type: -v (hit Enter)

This will put you in verbose mode and messages will display during boot. What error messages do you see? What messages are displayed right before it stops?

Sweet! like a game almost haha.

I'll give it another go.

Thanks for the help so far.

I win! First try.

I get two pertinent errors:

a link/load error occured for kernel extension /System/Library/Extensions/GeForce.kext

and subsequently

display: family specific matching fails

So it is a problem with my nvidia card.

Did I miss an nvidia patch in the osx installer? I saw an ati one but I didn't notice an nvidia one.

Or do I just need to pass a different resolution or something similar?