Missing Operating System

Psiuyo

13 posts in this topic

Ok, so I kinda screwed up earlier today. I accidentally blew away my partition table and while I have been successful in restoring the table, booting back into OSX has been trouble.

1 = FAT16 - Dell Utility

2 = NTFS - Windows XP

3 = 0xaf - OSX 10.4.7

4 = Linux - Ubuntu

(All 4 primary)

I can now boot back into into 1, 2, and 4 fine (had to fixmbr/fixboot on XP) and 3 WAS giving me an HFS+ Partition Error, but now gives the Missing Operating System message when that is the active partition.

By using the CD I can boot back into my OSX installation, I just can't do it the normal way any more.

Any ideas on what I can do? (Sorry, I'm totally new to OSX and not entirely sure what is needed for booting)

Thanks in advance!

Ok, so I kinda screwed up earlier today. I accidentally blew away my partition table and while I have been successful in restoring the table, booting back into OSX has been trouble.

1 = FAT16 - Dell Utility

2 = NTFS - Windows XP

3 = 0xaf - OSX 10.4.7

4 = Linux - Ubuntu

(All 4 primary)

I can now boot back into into 1, 2, and 4 fine (had to fixmbr/fixboot on XP) and 3 WAS giving me an HFS+ Partition Error, but now gives the Missing Operating System message when that is the active partition.

By using the CD I can boot back into my OSX installation, I just can't do it the normal way any more.

Any ideas on what I can do? (Sorry, I'm totally new to OSX and not entirely sure what is needed for booting)

Thanks in advance!

I think you wiped out the boot sector. I haven't figured out how to restore one yet. You may be able to use the chain0 added to the XP boot.ini method to get it to boot. If you are using grub it can't read the hfs partition and that is why it says no os. I have seen it sugested you can also use the boot1h file in place of chain0 if that doesn't work. Have not seen any body confirm that though.

If that fails I would reinstall.

Don

Try this: