Mountain Lion - Dell e6510 - couple issues

jgauthier

13 posts in this topic

Greetings!

I've installed iAtkos Mountain Lion on a Dell e6510.  Things are going pretty well.  I have three annoying issues I would love to get some help with.

I'm pretty new at all this, so I might have missed some things.

1) No Audio. This has an IDT 92HDxxx chip in it.  I've done a ton of reading, but I can't seem to get anything to work.  

2) The system will not reboot.  When it gets to that point it just stops.  I read somewhere that this happens when you don't have a DSDT or you need to use EvOreBoot.  Neither seems to work.  I used DSDT Editor and extracted the DSDT. I applied a patch a found somewhere on the internet for an e6510.  

3) After I come back to the system for awhile it's dark and non-responsive.  I am assuming this is power saving. I have no problem disabling this.  

I would really like to get 1) and 2) resolved to make this more useful.

Thanks very much!

is it possible to re-install mountain lion using this guide?  you can use your iAtkos build to create the usb installer.  that might solve your no.2 issue.

as for your sound, i will try to help you (but not guaranteed to work 100%) with it if you re-install osx.

to get your audio working, you'll need a codec dump from a linux distro.   i suggest to use an ubuntu live cd.   open a terminal window and type this:

cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 > ~/Desktop/codec.txt

note that codec#0 could be codec#1 in your case, so change accordingly.

from your other post:

Well, I reinstalled.  Everything was working.  I ran through software updates to which it reported "None of the selected software was able to be installed."

Upon rebooting, I am waiting for the root device again.

Puzzling.

try to boot in safe mode -v -x

if you're able to boot in safe mode, try to rebuild kernel extensions cache.  you can use kext utility for that.