Me and my new hackintosh (hopefully)

Cain

4 posts in this topic

Ok, I thought I start off this blog with a little background about me to add a bit of context to the later posts.

First of all, I'm a big gamer and I'm a C# programmer, which pretty much makes me a Windows guy. I'm also an electronic engineer though, which means I use Linux a lot too. Up until now, I haven't had much chance to use OSX, and I couldn't justify the cost of a Mac just so I could try it out. I do like to keep an open mind about technology though, and I've always been interested in what was happening in the Apple world even if I wasn't using their products much myself. When I first found out about the osx86 project a long time ago I tried it out on my computer, but the hardware wasn't very compatible and while I did manage to get it to boot, almost nothing worked and it was extremely slow. I wasn't interested in buying a new computer at the time, so my experiments ended for a while, but I still kept checking the osx86project and related websites regularly.

I have just recently built myself a new computer, and while I didn't go out of the way to get OS X compatible parts, I did check the compatibility lists while deciding what to buy so that I could at least ensure I didn't buy anything that was known to be incompatible. Here's what I ended up with:

Motherboard: DFI Infinity 975X/G

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600

Memory: 2GB Corsair Twin2x DDR2 XMS2-6400

Graphics Card: 256MB Albatron GeForce 7600

Hard Drives: 2x Western Digital 320GB SATA2 drives for data. OS X will be installed on a 80GB PATA drive

Optical Drive: Pioneer DVR-111D