Switch a 2011 iMac for a Hackintosh

Vitinhoo!

10 posts in this topic

Hi guys, ripventura here.

I hope you can help me with my case...

A couple of years ago (5 - 7) I used to have a PC and love to use my hackintosh.

The problem at that time was that the hardware requirements were a pain in the ***, and was pretty common to have some parts like audio / wifi cards not working properly...

I got tired of the hacking thing and bought a MacBook White, and now I have this:

iMac 21.5" Mid 2011, i5 Quad-core 2.5GHz, AMD 6750M 512MB, 12GB RAM DDR3

It's a pretty good build for common tasks, even dealing with some video editing (the 12GB RAM works like charm) and some "XCoding" (I'm an iOS developer).

The thing is that I really want to build a hardcore gaming beast, and for that I must sell my iMac.

On the other hand, I CAN'T abandon Mac OSX (1: Because it's not even comparable to windows 2: I need it for work).

Here's the PC I'm about to buy:

i7 3770 3.4GHz, AMD 7870 2GB (or G-Force GTX 660-Ti 2GB), 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance, Mother Board MSI H61MU-B35.

My question is: Is it a good choice to dump a really good iMac, and start depending on hacks to use Mac OSX (but with the hardware 5x better)?

Thanks in advance! icon_wave.gif

----------------------------------------------------

EDIT: What about this build?

i7 3770 3.4GHz, G-Force GTX 660 2GB, 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance, Mother Board GibaByte GA-Z77X-UD5H

The 660 Ti - which is basically the same silicon as the 670 - is easier to setup with Mountain Lion, at least until Apple release a machine equipped with a 7xxx AMD GPU. I'd use a Gigabyte UEFI motherboard: they're the easiest ones to use with OSX. I'd also get one with Thunderbolt ports, because Thunderbolt is the future - the Z77-UP5-TH, for instance, has two Thunderbolt ports. If it fits in your budget, why not 16GB of RAM? The resultant machine will make your current iMac appear to be in slow motion.