Welcome to InsanelyMac Forum

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

2 posts in this topic

Hi guys, been researching all day. First-time builder here so any help would greatly be appreciated. However I have some experience adding removing computer parts, just never built one from scratch.

I'd like to build a badass workstation, no gaming. I'd also like it to dual boot OSX and Windows 7 so I can cater to clients' needs. Primary software is FCP, Avid, Premier Pro, Adobe After Effects, Photoshop, Illustrator, Lightroom, and light Cinema 4d work. I plan to upgrade my graphics card later when the C4d work gets more serious.

Again, any help would be hugely appreciated, I'm a total noob!

Budget $2.5k (although less is always good)

ASUS P8P67 DELUXE (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Intel Core i7-2700K Sandy Bridge 3.5GHz (i read 2700k it's more reliable for OCing)

RAM(plenty for After Effects)

CORSAIR Vengeance 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10

Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F120GB3A-BK 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Graphics Card(cudas for Premiere Pro)

Galaxy 56NGH6HS4IVZ GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB Battlefield 3 Edition 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Power Supply

OCZ ZS Series 750W 80PLUS Bronze High Performance Power Supply

Corsair Carbide Series 500R Black Steel structure with molded ABS plastic accent pieces ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler