InsanelyMac Forum

First of all, Hello everyone. I've just joined Insanely Mac(and cleared a couple of fairly simple quizzes before I could actually post this).

Basically, I am a student residing in India where Apple products aren't as cheap as what you could get in U.S. or Singapore. The 15' Macbook Pro range starts from about $2000(even after student discounts its somewhere near $1850 or so) here which makes it quite unaffordable and unrealistic for me. Therefore, I am looking for some Notebook/Laptop that can be Hackintoshed to provide almost similar to original Mac experience, if not identical. Anything that costs $1000(Rs. 50,000) or lesser and meets the above requirements would do good. Ofcourse, I cannot expect a Hackintosh to work flawlessly out of the box, but yes, I need something that would require minimum tweaking or messing with kexts etc and something that is stable, reliable and fairly usable.

Looking forward to helpful replies. :)

Edit: I forgot to mention, I would be dual booting OS X and Windows7 even though I would be spending 80% of the time with OS X.

Advertisement

hi lakshay see this

Sony Vaio VPCEH25EN http://wiki.osx86pro...ables#VPCEH25EN

its cost in india is about 35000 rupees i guess may be less also check on local stores :)

;;

I've always been a great fan of Sony Vaio series. Though 1 thing that I'd like to know is whether it is fully compatible or if it isn't then what are the unsupported features?

Sounds promising, even though I'd prefer something i5/i7 with some 500gb HDD. Does it have other hackintosh compatible variants like Hp Probook series?(They have a good no. of notebooks in probook series that run almost flawlessly)

Else, White Vaio notebook is a win win for me.

Thanks. :)