iATKOS L2 install not starting on dv6-6150eb

superpimp

11 posts in this topic

Hello,

I recently bought a new laptop and today I figured it was about time to install OS X, as I did with my previous one. I had a perfectly working Snow Leopard setup running so I am not a complete newbie to this thing.

I downloaded the iATKOS L2 distro (I wanted to run Lion :-) ) and tried various options for installing.

First: I burned the image (checksum verified) to a dvd and booted off it. The iATKOS start shows up, then I have to press F8 for boot options or any key to continue. When I do this (F8 or something else) the installer freezes and doesn't respond, so there is no way to go into verbose (-v) or safe mode.

Second: I expanded the image file to a usb drive with transmac and booted it using a mac bootloader (this). The bootloader starts fine but when I select the usb drive to boot (it is recognized) my laptop restarts without any warnings.

I'm guessing it has something to do with my laptop because my older Leopard distros are not working either, which is very bizarre because there are users with identical specifications posting working results (here).

Any ideas?

Specifications:

Sandy bridge

Intel i7 2630QM

AMD Radeon HD6770M

8GB RAM

Thanks!

If you have a snow partition, boot to it, then use a retail Lion image to create your boot media (USB stick).

Install chameleon 2.1 to the boot media.

Add your kexts and dsdt from the SL partitoin to the Lion install media.

Reboot and select USB as your 1st boot device.

Chameleon 2.1 should load, type -v for verbose, hit enter, see what happens.

Do a retail install, ONLY USE DISTROS IF YOU HAVE NO OTHER OPTION!

First thing to do is install snow leopard.

You will need snow leopard (or another mac) to prepare the boot media.

Start off with nawcoms mod cd and a 10.6.3 retail disk.

Get snow installed and updated to 10.6.8 (this will give you a better idea of what you will need to run Lion)