Unable to boot since upgrade..

mad_t

6 posts in this topic

Hi

I'm new to mac os, but I've had a copy of iatkos 10.6.3 installed on a pc and working for quite a while.

Today I decided to format the disk and reinstall 10.6.3

After the reboot everything looked fine, so I decided to do a software upgrade.

Now I'm stuck at the apple logo, the hard disk seems to be read every few minutes, but nothing is happening !

Any ideas how I can get this to boot again ?

"stuck at the apple logo" is not a very good description of what's happening, it's useless for troubleshooting.

Boot with -v to see error messages. Without specific information about what's happening it's impossible to help you.

At least post your hardware specs, post what you select in the customize section before installing.

Look through this topic (read the whole topic) to find the common issues with 10.6.8:

http://www.insanelym...howtopic=260539

Instead of iATKOS, use a retail 10.6.3 DVD and a suitable boot CD. A lot less can go wrong this way plus it's easier to help you if you're running retail.

Thanks for the reply.

Sorry I was vague !!

I'm now running 10.6.3 fine.

The system is an :

Asrock 2core1333 2.66 Motherboard with onboard CPU

Integrated Intel GMA950 VGA, Realtek 8101E & ALC888 Audio.

2GB Ram

160 Seagate SATA Hard Disk

USB Keyboard & Mouse.

During installation I selected customise and added,

Intel GMA95 Support

Realtek 8111 support

USBFix

left everything else as is..

This runs really well, just got upset when I did a system update.

Thanks for the link, I'll have a read :)

Should also say verbose mode, looks fine, I didn't spot any errors.

The mouse appears then I get a black screen with a rectangular cursor in the top left corner.