CUDA and capture card compatibility

4 posts in this topic

So its about time for me to build a hackintosh - used to build PCs back in the day when 64 bit first came out, so obviously things are a bit different...

I edit video for a living and this will be for my own business uses at home plus some gaming on off days, and since I have so many legit licenses for Adobe, Pro Tools, Maya, etc etc and I dont want to drop 5k for a decently equipped Mac Pro, this is obviously the route for me to go without spending another 6k on software licenses switching to windows... Hopefully some of you guys can help me out since I dont know where all the new hardware stands and further, what is supported in snow leopard, lion, etc etc...

1. Does Lion support CUDA acceleration within Adobe? Which cards are supported? Im not worried about 3D rendering THAT much so I don't need a quadro card and would be content using a gaming geared card preferably with at least 1, if not 2 HDMI outs (havent seen any that have 2 HDMI outs yet).

2. Capture cards - I use black magic captures cards and have access to a decklink quad to live capture feeds via HD-SDI. I have done this with non-hackintosh fully loaded dual xeon Mac Pros at post houses before, so 10.6.8 acknowledges the card, just wondering if its the same in hackintosh land...

3. Motherboards - Saw a few compatibility lists on the web, but for the most part it seems like you can make almost any modern board work, mainly gigabyte boards? I just need to be able to run 3 PCI express cards at full speed and have been using the MSI Big Bang in PC builds for webcast application in the past few months when I built windows platforms for some friends - obviously not that applicable here but the large count of PCI slots are very nice to have.

4. RAID - What issues am I expecting to run into when installing RAID arrays via the motherboard? Are there any PCI express cards that are documented to support RAID5?