Can my Computer handle being a Hackintosh?

xNIN3

10 posts in this topic

I am VERY, VERY interested in making my computer a Hackintosh, and want to know if my computer can handle it, and want to know if my Hardware is compatible. But first, I need to know one thing (I am a noob), Will I be able to keep my Windows partition on my hard drive, as well as install Mac OS X on another partition. Anyway, here are my specs, taken from CPU-Z

Intel Core i5 650 @ 3.2 GHz

HP 304Ah Motherboard with Intel Chipset (if that really matters)

BIOS: HP 786H1 v01.02

Dual Channels 8GB DDR3 RAM

NVIDIA GeForce 210 1024 MB

Also, I have a Cisco AM10 Valet Wireless adapter, does anyone know if that is able to work

That's pretty much it. Anyone who has information on whether this will work please let me know!

Please get back to me as soon as possible

It doesn't work like that. This is a public forum, people will reply when and if they feel like it.

Try installing OS X, then you can get back to us as soon as possible and tell us if it works or not!

It is much, much easier to install OSX to a separate hard drive.

• Like 1

Okay, just two more questions, I've seen and read many tutorials, and right before you are about to install OS X, you make a partition in disk utilities, if I make it say, 100 GB, and for some reason, everything screws up, will everything on my Hard Drive be ruined, or just the partition I made, and also do I need the actual retail CD or Snow Leopard, or can I burn that ISO to a cd?

If you already have Windows installed on the hard drive you cannot create or modify partitions on it with Apple Disk Utility. Disk Utility cannot work with NTFS partitions.

You need to use a partitioning tool (partition magic or similar) under Windows to create a new (empty, or FAT? not sure, google it) partition. This partition can then be formatted with HFS+J using Disk Utility so that you can install OS X on it, but you will not be able to resize this partition later.