Jump to content
  • Announcements

    • Allan

      Forum Rules   04/13/2018

      Hello folks! As some things are being fixed, we'll keep you updated. Per hour the Forum Rules don't have a dedicated "Tab", so here is the place that we have our Rules back. New Users Lounge > [READ] - InsanelyMac Forum Rules - The InsanelyMac Staff Team. 
Sign in to follow this  
Boopop

Odd DS_Store behaviour

1 post in this topic

Recommended Posts

So my dad's moving his media collection from his WDLive media player, to his newly purchased HP Microserver. Before I had my Microserver properly configured, I was accessing his WDLive's SMB shares using my Macbook. As he was inspecting the difference between one copy of one of his folders on the WDLive, and the Microserver (running WHS v1), he found one of the DS_Store files my Macbook (running on Lion), had left behind.

 

After deleting this file, he seems to think the deleting that file from within WHS caused the whole folder to be wiped. Given that the .DS_store file is an inert little settings folder, like thumbs.db, besides the fact that I assume WHS doesn't even know how to read the .DS_STORE file, can someone just confirm with me that such a suggestion is non-sensical?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×