Hackintosh newbie needs some multiboot pointers please.

BigMacAttack

3 posts in this topic

Greetings!

I've finally taken the plunge. I've been wanting to do this for a long time and I finally got around to it... I have a couple of OLD powerpc macs that I don't know how to use and my son has a powerbook but he's 800 miles away in college.. :thumbsdown_anim:

I'm a Linux fanatic and I understand the OS X is BSD/Unix based so I shouldn't have too much of a learning curve, I've been using Linux for about 6 years and running Suse 10.0 on my big box.

As for the "hackintosh".

What I have is an old Dell Optiplex GX260 I got for free.

It has 512m ram, intel 2ghz w/sse2 and an ATI rage 128 agp video (in slot)

It has two 40gb hard drives and no floppies and no cd/dvd drives.

It's a dog but it does run.

I plugged a DVD drive into it to do the install but it must be removed when finished.

I have JaS 10.4.7 up an running on drive 0, works pretty good I guess.

I unplugged the mac drive and then installed Vista RC1 on drive 1. Vista works as well as you could expect, I guess.

Anyway, now the problem is, how do I set up so that I can boot OS X from drive 0 or Vista from drive 1???

I don't want either OS to share the other's drive and I don't want a common partition between them, I have no need for that. I want OS X to remain uncontaminated and untouched by M$.. The OSX is going to be for video editing/dvd authoring and the Vista is for me to learn on and get a jump on my customers. I hate windows but I know people are going to go to it so I have to also learn it so I can support them.

So,

OS X on drive 0 (40gigs)

Vista on drive 1 (40gigs)

DVD drive to be removed once it's all done.

How to set it up so that I can select at boot time which drive to boot up??

Thanks!

Guest bikedude880

Welcome to the forums!