AMD Hazard Reboot Before Install

andarion

5 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

So first of all, I've been using hackintosh on my system for about 6 months now, and I love it! However, after I upgraded my cpu from an old athlon x2 4400+ to a phenom ii x3 740 it would sporadically KP (after a few hours of use), the audio would stop working, etc. Plus I wanted to update my OSX install from 10.6.2 to 10.6.5; so I decided to start with a fresh install.

Here's what happense when I try:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9cK8PmMnBU?fs=1&hl=en_US

Basically, if I just click enter when the boot options comes up, it'll just sit stationary forever with a blinking text thing.

If I try -v, it will list a few things and reboot.

If I try cpus=1, it will do the same thing.

Redownloading the Hazard image and burning on a new disc did not solve this problem.

Help?!

Thanks in advance,

-Chris Pawlukiewicz

Oh, and here's the link to my original install thread: http://www.hackint0sh.org/f213/188406.htm

Did you try nawcom's cd?

Nawcom's CD is only good if you've installed the retail version of OSX SL on your system first. Since I don't have an extra mac lying around to do that, and you can install the retail version of OSX on an AMD machine, I don't understand what difference that'll make.

That's why I was using Hazard's distro in the first place. Also, since I already installed Hazard's distro on my system with the only thing different being a new CPU, and this problem never occured, I'm wondering if this is a hardware issue.

Did you have your DSDT patched?

I don't think so? I'm not too sure what that is (like I said I've only been doing this for a few months).

Here's what happened:

1) I installed Snow Leopard using Hazard's disc. Everything worked perfectly. The only things I did to the install was use Marvin's AMD patch and use osx86tools to get my GFX card to work. I didn't do or change anything to my system, BIOS, etc.

2) I upgraded my CPU.