Graphics card in DSDT benefits

Chant

4 posts in this topic

Hello,

I'm quite new to Hackintosh and did a lot of reading so far.

I have a Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.2 BIOS FC Motherboard and a Nvidia GTX460 card.

Now I want to know what benefit I would have to 'inject' my graphics card into my DSDT file.

Currently I'm using [url="http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/279450-why-insanelymac-does-not-support-tonymacx86/"]#####[/url]+GE+[url="http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/279450-why-insanelymac-does-not-support-tonymacx86/"]#####[/url] and the TonyMac Nvidia 'Fermi' drivers.

So basically what I want to know is:

-Is there a benefit of doing the graphics card in the DSDT?

-Will I still need the GE option if I put it in the DSDT?

-Can I upgrade anyhow when it is in the DSDT? eg. is it 'native vanilla'?

-is it possible to put my network and audio in the DSDT as well?

Hope somebody can help me with this because these are the last questions I can't figure out by reading the internet.

Thanks,

Chant

• 11 months later...

I basically had the same question. I understand the purpose of the DSDT file and I understand why you would want to use it, however what I really want to know is, are there benefits to using it? Will the hardware perform any better?

I figured I could piggy back onto this topic rather than create another.

Put bluntly, the purpose of device injection, whether via DSDT, kext or device properties string, is to tell OS X what and where the injected device is. On a real Mac, this exchange is handled via Apple specific EFI ROM, which our BIOS based PC devices and motherboards don't have.

Unless your injection method (GraphicsEnabler, DSDT, Device Property String, SomeEnabler.kext) is broken, there can be no performance difference. Once you're done booting and arrive at the desktop, your injection method has served its purpose. It's the drivers that load for your hardware that are responsible for performance.