do kexts mess with windows?

polgas88

2 posts in this topic

Hey everybody, I'm planning to install OS X on my pc soon. I already have Windows 7 professional 64 bit installed, and I'm planning to install Os X on a separate hard drive. And although I've been reading up on alot of guides, and alot of them are very detailed, I just wanted to know before I start:

Will installing kexts or anything related to running Os X on my pc mess with my windows installation? I'm not really sure how kexts work, but they seem to be related to the core of the OS, so I was wondering if it will change anything important on my pc, like say, the BIOS on my motherboard, or firmware, or drivers that run my hardware?

Where are kexts installed anyways? Will they be installed only on my hard drive with Os X? Or do they go deeper than that?

Sorry, real newbie here, and Im scared to mess up.

For whatever its worth, my hardware:

MSI 785gt - e63

Phenom II x3 720

Radeon hd 5770

Thanks in advance!

Hey everybody, I'm planning to install OS X on my pc soon. I already have Windows 7 professional 64 bit installed, and I'm planning to install Os X on a separate hard drive. And although I've been reading up on alot of guides, and alot of them are very detailed, I just wanted to know before I start:

Will installing kexts or anything related to running Os X on my pc mess with my windows installation? I'm not really sure how kexts work, but they seem to be related to the core of the OS, so I was wondering if it will change anything important on my pc, like say, the BIOS on my motherboard, or firmware, or drivers that run my hardware?

Where are kexts installed anyways? Will they be installed only on my hard drive with Os X? Or do they go deeper than that?

Sorry, real newbie here, and Im scared to mess up.

For whatever its worth, my hardware:

MSI 785gt - e63

Phenom II x3 720

Radeon hd 5770

Thanks in advance!