Newbie help

Naoki S

8 posts in this topic

Hi, Naoki S, but you can call me Naoki.

Basicly, I've always wanted projects to do and always had hardware laying around. Recently after messing with MESS to get OS 6 (I think) working on an emulated Mac Plus, I considered having a try at OS X after reading about the emulated EFI. Now I'm blown away with guides and distro's to choose from, but don't have all the time in the world to try them, since I'm still a student. I thought instead of reading through massive pages of info that possibly is outdated and nothing like my hardware, I'd thought I'd come here to try get the best Distro and guide for me.

Now, I'm not fussy which OS X version I can use, because TBH I'd be fine with Tiger, though I'd rather have something more modern so software will still work with it. I would wish for it to be as simple as possible, but will try harder with help. I'm also broke for cash, and I don't live near any (or so I've seen) computer stores and can't buy hardware without making a trip to Swindon (I live in the UK you see). I also can't buy stuff from online. I'll list the availible hardware I have now:

• CPUs: AMD Athlon XP (Not sure what type, but 2.6 GHz if i remember), 2x Pentium 4 1.8GHz (Both are Northwood I think), 2x Pentium 4 1.7GHz (Not sure which type), Pentium 4 1.6GHz (Not sure which type, currently missing), Pentium II (I know it's pointless listing, but just so you know)
  • Motherboards:

Jetway V600DAP (Max. 3GB RAM (DDR SDRAM/DIMM, 3 Banks), Socket A, 8x USB (4x External, 4x Internal), NorthBridge (VIA KT600/0444CD), SouthBridge (VIA VT8237/0430CD), Intergrated Audio (Realtek AC'97 I think), OnBoard LAN (Not sure what chip), 2x SataII (I think) ports, 2x IDE Ports, Floppy port, 5 PCI ports, AGP x8 (I think), Parrallel, 2x Serial, 2x PS/2 ports.