Help with USB audio issue iATKOS s3 v2 on Dell GX620

zibertron

10 posts in this topic

Hello All.

First let me say thank you to all the ppl working on osx86 community. Second although I have successfully installed 10.5 versions in the past, tweaking kext, add ven ids and all that good stuff. This is my first attempt with 10.6, I really didn't think it would work for my system.

Anyhow, on to my issue. Everything seems to be working properly. Video, Sound through onboard audio, usb.

Except that when I am using my usb headset to listen to audio it starts to crackle and pop when I move the mouse around, or if I scroll up and down. Its a plantronics .audio 655 and comes up as C-Media Usb audio device.

From searching around on the forum and using google's site: feature I have installed several kext and fixes and none seem to make the crackling and popping go away.

Im not sure if this has anything to do with it, but I sort of remember something about the kernel, system.kext and seatbelt.kext having to match. I did a uname -a and got back Darwin Kernel Version 10.2.0. When I do a kextstat I don't see the system.kext or the seatbelt.kext. These are the usb kexts that are loaded:

AppleUSBAudio (2.6.4b17)

AppleUSBHub (3.8.4)

AppleUSBEHCI (3.7.5)

AppleUSBUHCI (3.7.5)

IOUSBFamily (4.9.6)

When I eject a usb thumb drive, and reconnect it, it mounts right back up. In the system profiler it show it as only 12mb/s

After I installed all of the below items I did an update to 10.6.4 via the software update, it restarted right back up, I didn't have to change out any kext or kernels, as with 10.5 days.

I have installed 10.6 using iATKOS s3 v2 using the following options:

Bootloaders =

Chameleon V2 RC4

Bootloader options =

Graphic Enabler

USBBusFix

UUID

Patches =

All default already checked

Modified Kernel =

qoopz 10.2.0

Sleep Enabler

USB

UUID

Drivers =

Main Hardware =

NTFS-3G *ALL

VGA =

nVidia

EFI string

DVI/DVI

Enablers

NVEnabler