Wireless Mini PCI Solution

8 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I'm still a noob to OS X on a PC, so please be patient with me... if you can! ... I'm also a noob to the forum!

I've got an HP dv1440 laptop which is the HP dv1000 series notebook. I've got everything in OS X up and running on it just fine EXCEPT for my wireless internet. My wifi card is the Intel 2200b/g Mini PCI card. I know this card does not work (yet) and may not work for a VERY LONG TIME.

So, I'm ready to upgrade it! I have read a TON of posts and I feel like a Broadcomm would be my best shot.

I know HP supposedly uses BIOS whitelisting of hardware parts to block out some NON-HP hardware but I don't know if that's true. I also know that HP actually MAKES a Broadcomm Mini PCI wireless card FOR my exact computer. It is listed in their replacement document as:

802.11b/g Broadcomm. The spare part number information listed is:

373047-001

My OS X installation is currently version 10.4.7 from the JaS update DVD to update the JaS 10.4.6 version.

I am ready to buy and start setting up my Mini PCI wireless card, but I want to make sure I get the right one. So far, possible solutions I have found are:

dell DW1450

broadcom 4309

Broadcom BCM94309MP 802.11 a/b/g Mini PCI WiFi card

Trendnet TEW-441PI

I'm not sure if those will all work for sure or not, or if there are other better solutions out there to my problem. I've checked the HCL in the Wiki but there really isn't much listed for 10.4.6, and I'd love to have a card that HP will not blockout in the BIOS whitelisting.

If anyone has a DV1000 from HP and can tell me how they got wireless, I'd really appreciate it, or if anyone has any idea what I need, I'd really appreciate it!!

I've been trying to find a solution to my issue for 3 days, but I haven't gotten much feedback.

Thanks SOOO much for helping out a noob. If I can just get this wireless working I will be fully set up, and ready to go to college next month! :D