Snow Leopard on Sony Vaio?

Nate45

10 posts in this topic

Hey, everyone. I have a Sony Vaio VGN-FW560f. http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sony+-+VAIO+La...p;skuId=9556198

My graphics card is an ATI Mobility Radeon 4650, and my wireless card is a SmartWi. Anyone know if there are drivers for them? How do I install drivers post installation? What distro should I download? I know I'm a noob, and noobs are annoying but I'd really love some help. Thanks.

I have the same model Vaio and used the SnowOSX Universal distro (specifically the USB Flash version)

There are currently no drivers for our wireless card and though we can get full resolution on our display (follow this guide: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php...=#entry1386769) QE and CI are not supported yet. Support for ATI mobility cards are advancing every day and there are people working on getting our wireless card working as well.

Other things I haven't been able to get working 100% :

-Sound (I'm sure its possible, but am more concentrated on getting QE and CI working atm)

-MotionEYE Cam (works in photobooth but not ichat)

As far as kexts, check your devices in windows (device manager) and search for the kexts via google, here or kexts.com . Your wireless card is actually an "Intel® WiFi Link 5100 AGN" for instance, device manager tells you that.

Thank you, I started up a torrent. How do I install ktext's? And is the a wifi usb dongle I can buy that will work? My only option is wifi.

I own a VGN-NW21EF and Snow Leopard works out from scratch if you use Hazard disc. All the hardware is supported on the NW21EF, regarding WLAN Atheros 928, it does work with 10.6.1 Atheros Fix on either 32 and 64 bit.

Now the real deal is that you have no support for HD4xxx cards from Mobility series, which basiclly means you will use the Apple Framebuffer as rendering device. Yes it's victory as it works, but you can't expect performance out of it. MacOSX is only worth if you have hardware acceleration.