Snow Leopard on HP HDX18t

sl_009

28 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm a newbie and this is my first posting here.

I'm planning to buy HDX18t with the following specs:

Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium with Service Pack 1 (64-bit)

Intel® Core2 Quad Processor Q9100 (2.26Ghz, 12MB 6MB L2 Cache, 1066MHz FSB)

4GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) - For 1GB Nvidia GeForce GT 130M

500GB 7200RPM SATA Dual Hard Drive (250GB x 2) with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection

1GB Nvidia GeForce GT 130M - For DDR3 Memory

18.4" diagonal High Definition HP Ultra BrightView Infinity Display (1920x1080p)

Lightscribe Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD+/-R/RW Double Layer

Webcam + Fingerprint Reader with HP Imprint Finish (Fluid)

Intel Next-Gen Wireless-N Mini-card with Bluetooth

Full Size Backlit Keyboard

8 Cell Lithium Ion Battery

I have couple of questions and would appreciate replies:

1. Is the quad core supported in SL and does it boot into 64 bit mode?

2. I read that GT 130M is supported. Not sure about SL. I stumbled on this URL and somebody claims GT 130M is working with full hardware accelerated CI/QE. Can somebody confirm please?

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/lof...p/t169460.html

3. I want to replace the Intel Next-Gen Wireless-N Mini-card with Bluetooth with Dell Wireless 370 w/ Bluetooth card. Will it match and work properly? How difficult is it to remove the Intel card from the HP HDX 18t chassis and put a Dell 370?

4. Will the backlit keyboard be supported in SL?

No info about what Audio card comes with HDX 18t and whether it works.

5. I also like to have the built in Mic and webcam works along with DVI output to a external monitor.

I'm no gamer and would be using this notebook for native DV/HD editing.

Appreciate replies.

Thanks.

Hi,

500GB 7200RPM SATA Dual Hard Drive (250GB x 2) with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection

18.4" diagonal High Definition HP Ultra BrightView Infinity Display (1920x1080p)