Help with QE / CI on Thinkpad T60p 2007-CTO

Xin Li

6 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to hacking an OSX install onto a laptop. So bare with me. I'm a pretty technical guy, who feels at home under Linux, Windows, and pretty much any other OS you can throw at me. The Mac OS is just relatively new to me, from a tweaking perspective.

I've tried install the iDeneb 1.3 (10.5.5) onto an IBM Thinkpad T60p laptop. At this point, everything seems to be working, except for the video card, which doesn't seem to have CI/QE enabled. According to my research, the card should at least definitely support CI.

My Laptop:

IBM Thinkpad T60p (2007-cto)

4GB RAM

100GB SATA drive

5250 FireGL Card, 256MB VRAM (ATI X1700 Chipset I believe)

Here's what my System Profiler shows for the video card:

ATi Mobility Radeon x1700:

Chipset Model: ATi Mobility Radeon x1700

Type: Display

Bus: PCIe

PCIe Lane Width: x16

VRAM (Total): 256 MB

Vendor: ATI (0x1002)

Device ID: 0x210d571

Revision ID: 0x0000

EFI Driver Version: 01.00.068

Displays:

Display:

Resolution: 1400 x 1050

Depth: 32-bit Color

Core Image: Software

Main Display: Yes

Mirror: Off

Online: Yes

Quartz Extreme: Not Supported

QuartzGL: Supported

Display Connector:

What I've tried so far:

So far, I've tried a number of approaches to get it working.

1) Edit Info.plist in /System/Library/Extensions/ATIRadeonX1000.kext/Contents, and added the IOPCIMatch:

0x210D1002, is that right?

In any case, that didn't work

I followed the instructions here: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f...130&start=0

2) I hard coded the proper resolution of 1400x1050x32, into my Boot.plist, which gets me the right resolution at least

3) I tried

sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver QuartzGLEnabled -boolean YES

According to: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=64656

4) I tried using the OSX86 Tools, and enabling QuartsGL that way.