Revert to old kernel after updating...? won't boot up...

MtnClmbBkr

3 posts in this topic

OK, I checked the help topics and found a description for doing this when it boots into OSX but not for my problem... I have been struggling with this for four days now and have no solution although I have learned more about linux than I ever wanted to know.

I have been running OSX for a couple months on an eeepc 1000 with ideneb ver 1.3 (10.5.5) For some reason, I thought it would be a good idea to update my kernel. I used OSX86 tools which made a backup of my old kernel then rebooted. During shutdown I had a kernel panic. Now, I cannot boot up. I get stuck at the boot prompt. I do not know enough about the cammands needed to boot from the backed up kernel. I also have linux installed on the other drive and can boot to that-however I am unable to mount the hfsplus drive on it. I am travelling at the moment (currently in Istanbul) and do not have an external CD-rom with me, however, I do have the ideneb install dvd with me. I can only think of three solutions at the moment all of which I have tried and been unsuccessful. Here is what I think could work:

1. Perhaps there is a boot prompt command for pointing to the old kernel-however, I do not know thenname or location of the old kernel. Maybe there is a standard name and location to which the OSX86 tools saves the backup. I previously had 9.2.2 (vanilla?) kernel.

2. Maybe I can enable my linux partition to read the HFS+ not journaled drive and thereby find and or change the kernel. (this would be nice to have even if I fix it another way) I have been unable to find a package which would allow this. And I am having difficulty getting packages and installing them. Linux version: Debian GNU Linux 4.o \n \l "etch", kernel 2.6.21.4-eeepc