iDeneb 10.5.5 on Asus p5k (plain vanilla)

coolken84

14 posts in this topic

I am currently on my 6th install of this due to black screens and kernel panics.

My Specs:

Asus p5k Mainboard

Core2 Duo E8400

4 Gigs DDr2 800

ATI HD3870 x2

HP IDE DL DVD Writer

3 Drives 4 Partitions- all sata 3.0

200Gb Drive (Vista Premium 32 SP1)

250Gb Drive (Win XP SP3)

750Gb Drive 250Gb Partition (OSx) 400Gb (Data)

Running Acronis OS selector in a tri boot setup - mac os totally seperate from windows bootloader.

I install iDeneb 10.5.5 and use all of the settings I have seen in other posts for a p35 board, and I have not successfully booted into the os.

Black Screened on latest install - rebooted & went -v on restart - got this screen:

IMAGE_019.jpg

I think I'm close, but something is wrecking things - I have a hunch it has to do with the apple power management, but I'm a noob -w- this and need some guidance.

Anyone have any Ideas??

Thanks in Advance!

With your motherboard and iDeneb 1.3 10.5.5 must select:

In power managmentt S3 pos activated

In BIOS ACPI Activated

In Ideneb installation:

Language: only your language

Chipset: ICHX fixed + Jmicron

AppleSMBIOS: 800

Audio: Alc883

Kernel: Nothing (default vanilla 9.5 OK with your hardware);

Video: nothing (you'll install video kexts later)

LAN: AttansicL1

Application: All

If don't works the problem is an incorrect bios configuration (Cpuid, etc)

Giorgio

Well I tried your settings exactly as you laid them out. Getting the black screen & when I go -v at boot I see a cpu panic error. The bios on my board is the most current one for it amibios v02.61 everything in bios at defaults except what you recommended changing. I apologize for being dense on this, but I'm not too swift with linux and all the associated lingo. I'm just playing with this - kind of a if it can be done I want to try it... :wacko: