Setting up quad boot

2 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm new to this multi-booting lark, and would like to ask how best to go about it instead of wating tonight guessing and getting it wrong. I've searched other threads but nothing seems to match my configuration of 1xSATA and 2xIDE drives with Vista already installed on the SATA.

I have Vista x64 installed already on a SATA drive (which I would prefer not to have to reinstall), and want to add XP x64, OSX86 and Ubuntu to my two empty 80GB IDE drives. I have EasyBCD installed on Vista and am happy to use that to boot, if it will work.

My questions are these:

Should I install two OSes on one IDE drive and one on the other, or all three on one and format the other with a couple of FAT32 partitions?

If the 2+1 solution is best, which OS should be the one on its own drive?

Does it make any difference what HD an OS is on if they are on separate primary partitions?

What order would be best to install the OSes, starting with Vista already installed?

Will I need to copy the chain0 file to my C: in Vista or make any other changes, or can EasyBCD handle it alone?

Thanks for any help!

davr0s