Black screen with music playing

Matt27272

22 posts in this topic

Any help?

You could boot with -s

mount -uw /

rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/"X1600.kext"......you need to give the proper kext name here

exit

Also see this thread......

Can you give me a little more explanation here? I'm new to this. Thanks.

At the `darwin bootloader prompt boot: type -s and press Enter.....

then type mount -uw / and press Enter

rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/"X1600.kext"......you need to give the proper kext name here

exit and press Enter

As I do not have iATKOSv4, I do not know the actual name given to the X1600 kext file you installed....so you may need to serach insanelymac via google to find out.....

At the `darwin bootloader prompt boot: type -s and press Enter.....

then type mount -uw / and press Enter

exit and press Enter

As I do not have iATKOSv4, I do not know the actual name given to the X1600 kext file you installed....so you may need to serach insanelymac via google to find out.....

If I type -s and press enter, it's starts to load the os and I can't type anything else

If I type -s and press enter, it's starts to load the os and I can't type anything else

If when you type -s do you see white text coming up on screen?........at some point the text generation should halt and present you with the :/ root# prompt......

That worked! thank you so much. Also, how do I get it so that I don't have to enter this every time I boot up?

Glad it worked for you.......what was the full name of the X1600 kext file that you removed?.....it should no longer be present in your Extensions folder......i.e. go to /System/Library/Extensions and check that this is so......and so you should not have to follow this procedure again......just find the correct install guide and driver kext for your GFX card...... ;)