Building a cheap Hackintosh to upgrade from an Emac

13 posts in this topic

I'm a total newbie at this.

I have a G4 eMac 1ghz (133 mhz bus) that's getting to be slow. I do browsing with lots of tabs, Itunes, and various normal applications. I'd like to upgrade to a cheap Hackintosh and sell the eMac while I still might get something for it. The new one should cost less than a Mini. I was looking at the Atom plans, but then I read that it's not really faster than a G4. Is there something I can get that's cheap and also has been tested by others, that's a good step up from my G4 and will last me a few years (and be upgradeable to some extent)?

I'd like to have 2GB RAM, with an option to upgrade to 4 or more in the future. I have a 320GB PATA hard drive, so I'd prefer something that will accept that as well as the new SATA drives. (I want to be able to use at least 2 drives, so I can back up.) I have a 1680x1050 monitor. I'd like to be able to watch the common online video these days, like Hulu or maybe streaming Netflix if I were to run Windows since Netflix doesn't support Macs. I'd also like to be able to burn DVDs, and to either have wireless networking or be able to add it later without too much cost.

I use Tiger now. I don't know if I want Tiger or Leopard, but I might want to go with Leopard so it will remain useful and I can use new software. I also may need to run Windows on it at some point. (Would that require another hard drive?)

Are there any plans that someone has come up with, that would work well for me? I wouldn't know how to pick out individual parts myself. I'm not a computer expert, so I only want to do this if I can get something reliable that I'm not going to have to mess around with once it's built. I'd also be open to buying a pre-built PC if that would be the best deal.