Installation that isn't a partition

Josh W.

5 posts in this topic

I built a computer and have 2 HDs in it. From just about EVERYTHING I have read, all the steps seem to be mostly on partitions, etc, partitions, etc. Is there a site or a set of steps that I can follow if I am NOT using a partition? I just want to install OSX86 on my other hard drive. I know I will probably need to change the type (Fat32, NTFs, etc) but I am not using a partition. I am a bit of a noob in this category as far as "hakintoshing" goes, but I have the basics down. I built my computer. Any help is appareciated. Thanks.

ok thats good to know..thanx for that man. I just want to play around with operating system a bit. My proc. is the intel kentsfield q6700. I imagine that I would be able to install the MAC OS on there somehow. Maybe Im just lazy and dont want to read a bunch of directions and what all can go wrong. I just want a simply step by step intruction sheet to how to install it, etc. Maybe im asking too much.

here you go, hope this will be okay for you:

Easiest way to do it is with a Tri boot - Windows, Linux and OS X

1. Install windows on your 1st disk, leave enough space for a 15GB linux install and a 2GB swap partition.

2. Install linux on the leftover space and install GRUB to the MBR.

3. Now load up your OS X install dvd and partition with disk utility GUID format, with two partitions, the first should be about 200MB, the second can be the whole disk.

4. Install Mac OS X onto the larger partition.

5. Now download the Chameleon boot files or the PC_EFI v8.

6. Load up linux and log in as root if possible. Open terminal and type 'pico /boot/grub/menu.lst' - this will open your GRUB config file for editing.

7. Add an entry for Darwin (search google on this stuff if you have to) it should look like this:

If you are using chameleon

title Darwin
kernel(hd1,0)/boot/chameleon/boot

or if you are using pc_efi

title Darwin
kernel(hd1,0)/boot/boot_v8