Freeware MAC games ports

frank754

5 posts in this topic

OK, I'm a newbie here, and I spent quite a bit of time building a Hackintosh, figuring how to do upgrades and such, as well as fix problems. Now that I'm fairly confident I can keep the box going, I'm on to adding software, first thing was Firefox, and that's ok.

As far as Cider, I haven't tried it yet, but I've been an Emerald member of Transgaming for a few years and know how to do all of that on Linux, so no problem with commercial games, or even WINE, if there's a port for that. And the next thing I will do today is look to see if there's a port of dosemu.

Being a linux (mostly huge Debian-derivative guy and so forth), I'm used to an app called synaptic, or even just plain old apt get, and in Ubuntu as well as Debian you can get a newer more-limited but user friendly app called gnome-app-install, and once you open that up, you have access to a huge list of open-source and freeware 3rd party games and apps that will install with a click.

Games like solitaire, mahjonng, tuxracer, lincity, breakout, nethack, shisen-sho, frozen-bubble and scores more that will install with just one click, all for free (no shareware here).

Is there any kind of download system that can be installed like that for a mac, or at least a place to go that has free binaries like that which you can install by hand?

OK, I'm a newbie here, and I spent quite a bit of time building a Hackintosh, figuring how to do upgrades and such, as well as fix problems. Now that I'm fairly confident I can keep the box going, I'm on to adding software, first thing was Firefox, and that's ok.

As far as Cider, I haven't tried it yet, but I've been an Emerald member of Transgaming for a few years and know how to do all of that on Linux, so no problem with commercial games, or even WINE, if there's a port for that. And the next thing I will do today is look to see if there's a port of dosemu.