Help with ATI X300 and kalyway leo 10.5.1

Retromoe

11 posts in this topic

So i decided to retry installing Mac on my Dell Insprion 9300, Im also a total newb to this, i did do my searching for the drivers but no luck, installation goes perfectly i even hear the mac start up sound and the guy speaking but just its White blank screen.

So if someone can really help me it would mean alot.

Installing : Kalyway 10.5.1, i only have the option to select older ati drivers (x1900 and x1xxx) and thats it. Which kalyway iso is going to be able to provide ATI X300's driver?

Computer : Dell Insprion 9300

100GB Hd

Intel Centrino

ATI X300 Mobility radeon

just got it up and running, it looks fantastic i think ill be installing it on my desktop soon.

although my internet isnt working any patches or anything avaliable for this? its a Intel ® PRO/Wireless 2200BG

usb ports work fine, keyboard and everything else, oh yeah also the sound.

When i get the internet up and running is it safe for me to update it or should i just leave it?

edit :

Wireless

* This was the hardest part. If you have the Intel 2200BG card, here's how it work.

* With the iwi2200.zip file (Located HERE), extract it to the desktop.

* Move the iwi2200.kext to /System/Library/Extension

chown -R root:wheel iwi2200.kext

chmod -R 755 iwi2200.kext

* Move nsGUI.app & networkselector to /Application

chown / chmod in same mode of iwi2200.kext

reboot

f8 / -v at darwin loader

* When it comes back you, you'll have to go to Applications, open the Network Selector First. When the options come up it should look like this:

i downloaded the zip from that thread but im having trouble " chown -R root:wheel iwi2200.kext

chmod -R 755 iwi2200.kext" i dont really get the "chown - r " thing

can someone explain?