My step-by-step install of 10.5.2 on a Dell 530 E2180

HolyCrap

17 posts in this topic

TOP EDIT: Note, I now am running a Q6600 quad core. But the installation was the same

Okay, here goes nothing!

I just got a Dell 530 delivered today. I have read where other people have gotten this computer running OSX and I'm going to give it a shot. I've browsed these forums on and off for months and months and as a novice and newbie, I have to admit that I find even some of the step-by-step tutorials confusing. My plan here is to be verbose. I'm going to try and list all the details of my attempts to install 10.5.2 This will probably mean I'm being redundant with some of the other threads and guides, but If I'm successful, then hopefully a single thread could lead somebody as inexperienced as I, through this process.

If I fail, well hopefully somebody will gently point me in the right direction.

Here is a step-by-step walk-through of my installation

- I ordered a computer from Dell. It has the following specs:

Intel®Pentium® dual-core processor E2180 (1MB, 2.00GHz, 800FSB)

2GBDual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz- 2DIMMs

250GBSerial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™

16XDVD+/-RW Drive

IntegratedIntel Graphics Media Accelerator 3100

Integrated7.1 Channel Audio

- I got a copy of Kalyway_10.5.2_DVD_Intel_AMD

- I took the .iso and burned it to a blank DVD-R using Nero

prior to burning it, I didn't do anything else. Was this a mistake? I guess I'll find out.

Along with the iso is an "add kext to dvd" folder. Inside that folder is a document as well as a .command file. Inside the document it says "if you want adding drivers support to dvd boot then put kexts you want add to dvd extensions in this folder (you can find natit for at hd in this folder) and run Add_kext_to_dvd_boot.command !!!" I've been told that this is only necessary for older nVidia graphics cards. I skipped it.